top of page
FFH_verein_ueberuns_header.jpg

About Us

Friends for Hope e. V. is Friends for Hope e. V. is committed to disadvantaged children and young adults, in western Rajasthan in India, with the aim of giving access to education and training in order to enable them to have a self-determined future.

 

The unconditional claim of the association is to implement only sustainable solutions. Education, as well as health care and nutrition, are an essential foundation and particularly effective.

Since the association was founded in 2014, more than 1000 children and young people and their multipliers, i.e. families, friends, village communities, etc., have received support, in educational and training projects. In addition, investments were made in numerous other  projects.

FFH_verein_ueberuns1.jpg

Who we are and
how we work

Friends-for-Hope e. V. is a non-profit, non-denominational and ideologically neutral association based in Munich. The association was registered in 2014 under the number VR 205774 in the register of associations of the district court of Munich.

 

The honorary board, chaired by Thomas Thirolf, includes Dagmar von Tschurtschenthaler, Mrinalini D'Costa and Nga Le. The association currently has 23 members and numerous volunteers of all ages.

 

Friends-for-Hope e. V. personally accompanies all projects and is regularly on site in Rajasthan, India. The Barefoot Colleges and educational institutions are visited two to three times a year in order to understand their needs on site and in close consultation with the village communities, coordinators, teachers, parents and children, to identify support needs and to develop sustainable solutions.

 

An almost daily exchange with the project leaders via digital media enables the association to be close to current events and to act quickly, purposefully and emphatically and to be able to help and advise promptly.

What we take care of

We are committed to the poorest of the poor, regardless of gender, ethnic group or religion.

With the Barefoot College, our strong local partner in India, we develop and implement sustainable project concepts that aim for consistent, long-term solutions. These are not only important for the children and young people and employees, but also involve the region and its villages with their inhabitants, changing them positively in the long term. The local village communities are therefore involved and integrated. Thus following the principle of helping people to help themselves.

FFH_verein_ueberuns2.jpg
FFH_verein_ueberuns3.jpg

Education, Nutrition & Health

Learning to read, write and do arithmetic is completely new for many of the school children. They are often the first generation in their families to receive an education. The basis for this is an adequate, balanced diet and appropriate hygiene.

They learn everyday skills. They participate in the children's parliament and learn about co-determination. They attend sewing courses while at school, and being trained as carpenters or electricians. This secures them work in their villages after school - an immensely important step in preventing the existing rural exodus to the big cities and thus a very likely life in city slums.

Children and young adults thus become self-confident people who perceive themselves as effective. They carry this into their families and village communities. They act as role models for future generations and display prospects for a life beyond poverty, heteronomy and discrimination, passing on hope and effectiveness.

FFH_verein_ueberuns_all.jpg
Training

1 year - 1 new life.

 

One year means a new life here. For the first time there is access to education. About 90% of the students in our school projects manage to transfer to a state school after just one year. A path that would be impossible without that laid out from the night schools and via the boarding school. So far, more than 300 students have received access to education through our association. These bring about positive changes in more than 2000 people - in families and communities.

Girls are a special key to change here. When girls and young women recognise the value of education, they send their own children to schools as well. They are specially encouraged by us.

Nutrition

 

 

Malnutrition cases in India are still high. The corona pandemic has exacerbated this situation. Chronic malnutrition in children affects cognitive development and growth and affects the immune system.

 

To counteract this, the school children receive a local product produced at Barefoot College: Amritschura - a nutritional blend of locally available products to prevent malnutrition.

Health

 

 

 

 

In addition, there are usually poor hygienic conditions, which lead to diarrheal diseases and thus make food intake even more difficult. Here, too, much-needed educational work is being done with the help of hygiene workshops.

bottom of page

FFH_verein_ueberuns_header.jpg

Über uns

Friends-for-Hope e. V. engagiert sich  im westlichen Rajasthan in Indien mit dem Ziel, benachteiligten und bedürftigen Kindern und Jugendlichen Zugang zu Bildung und Ausbildung zu schaffen, um ihnen eine selbstbestimmte Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Unbedingter Anspruch des Vereins ist es, ausschließlich nachhaltige Lösungen umzusetzen. Bildung als auch die Bereiche Gesundheitsfürsorge und Ernährung sind als Grundlage unerlässlich und in besonderem Maße wirkungsvoll.

Seit Gründung des Vereins 2014 wurden in realisierten Bildungs- und Ausbildungsprojekten mehr als 1000 Kindern und Jugendliche sowie deren Multiplikatoren, also Familien, Freunde, Dorfgemeinschaften et cetera, direkt gefördert. Darüber hinaus wurde in eine Vielzahl weiterer Projekte investiert.

FFH_verein_ueberuns1.jpg

Wer wir sind und

wie wir arbeiten

Friends-for-Hope e. V. ist ein gemeinnütziger, überkonfessioneller und weltanschaulich neutraler Verein mit Sitz in München. Der Verein wurde 2014 unter der Nummer VR 205774 im Vereinsregister des Amtsgerichts München eingetragen.

Zum ehrenamtlichen Vorstand unter dem Vorsitz von Thomas Thirolf gehören Dagmar von Tschurtschenthaler, Mrinalini D’Costa und Nga Le. Der Verein zählt derzeit 23 Mitglieder sowie zahlreiche Ehrenamtliche aller Altersgruppen.

Friends-for-Hope e. V. begleitet sämtliche Projekte persönlich und ist regelmäßig vor Ort in Rajasthan, Indien. Die Barefoot Colleges und Bildungseinrichtungen werden zwei bis drei Mal im Jahr besucht, um direkt vor Ort und in enger Absprache mit den Dorfgemeinschaften, Koordinatoren, Lehrern, Eltern und Kindern deren Bedürfnisse herauszufinden, Förderbedarfe zu erkennen und nachhaltige Lösungen zu entwickeln.

 

Ein nahezu täglicher Austausch mit den Projektverantwortlichen via digitale Medien kommt hinzu und ermöglicht es dem Verein, nah am aktuellen Geschehen zu sein sowie zügig, zielgerichtet und nachdrücklich zu agieren und zeitnah helfen und beraten zu können.

Darum kümmern wir uns

Wir engagieren uns für die Ärmsten der Armen, unabhängig von Geschlecht, Ethnie oder Religion.

Mit dem Barefoot College, unserem starken Partner vor Ort in Indien, entwickeln und realisieren wir nachhaltige Projektkonzeptionen, die auf beständige, langfristige Lösungen zielen und nicht allein für die Kinder und Jugendlichen sowie Mitarbeiter bedeutsam sind, sondern die Region und deren Dörfer mit ihren Menschen einbeziehen und diese dauerhaft positiv verändern. Hierfür werden die Dorfgemeinschaften vor Ort einbezogen sowie eigeninitiativ eingebunden. Ganz dem Prinzip der Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe folgend.

FFH_verein_ueberuns2.jpg
FFH_verein_ueberuns3.jpg

Bildung, Ernährung & Gesundheit

Lesen, Schreiben und Rechnen zu lernen ist für viele der Schulkinder gänzlich neu. Oft sind sie die erste Generation ihrer Familien, die eine Ausbildung erhalten. Grundlage dafür sind eine ausreichende, ausgewogene Ernährung sowie entsprechende Hygiene.

Sie erlernen Alltagswissen. Erleben im Kinderparlament Teilhabe und Mitbestimmung. Erhalten schulbegleitend Nähkurse oder eine Ausbildung zum Beruf des Schreiners oder Elektrikers. Diese Ausbildung sichert ihnen nach der Schule Arbeit in ihren Dörfern – ein immens wichtiger Schritt, um die bestehende Landflucht in die Großstädte und damit ein sehr wahrscheinliches Leben in Slums zu verhindern.

Kinder und Jugendliche werden so zu selbstbewussten Menschen, die sich selbst als wirkungsvoll empfinden. Sie tragen dies in ihre Familien und Dorfgemeinschaften hinein. Sie übernehmen Vorbildfunktionen für nachfolgende Generationen und zeigen Perspektiven auf ein Leben jenseits von Armut, Fremdbestimmung und Diskriminierung auf. Sie geben Hoffnung und Wirksamkeit weiter.

FFH_verein_ueberuns_all.jpg
Bildung

1 Jahr – 1 neues Leben.

 

Ein Jahr bedeutet hier ein neues Leben. Denn zum ersten Mal erhalten sie Zugang zu Bildung. Etwa 90 Prozent der SchülerInnen unserer Brückenschul-Projekte schaffen nach nur einem Jahr den Übertritt auf eine staatliche Schule. Ein Weg, der ihnen ohne den von uns realisierten Weg von den Nacht- und über die Brückenschulen unmöglich wäre. Bisher haben mehr als 300 Schüler durch unseren Verein Zugang zu Bildung erhalten. Diese bewirken bei mehr als 2000 Menschen – in Familien und Gemeinschaften – positive Veränderungen.

Mädchen sind hier ein besonderer Schlüssel zu Veränderungen. Wenn Mädchen und junge Frauen den Wert von Bildung erkennen, schicken sie ihre eigenen Kindern ebenfalls auf Schulen. Sie werden von uns speziell gefördert.

Ernährung

 

 

Immer noch sind die Fälle von Unterernährung in Indien hoch. Die Corona-Pandemie hat diese Situation noch verschärft. Chronische Unterernährung bei Kindern beeinflusst kognitive Entwicklung und Wachstum und hat Auswirkungen auf das Immunsystem.

 

Um dem entgegenzuwirken erhalten die Schulkinder ein im Barefoot College produziertes einheimisches Produkt: Amritschura – eine Nährstoffmischung aus lokal verfügbaren Produkten, um Mangelernährung vorzubeugen.

Gesundheit

 

 

 

 

Hinzu kommen in der Regel schlechte hygienische Voraussetzungen, die zur Durchfallerkrankungen führen und so die Nahrungsaufnahme zusätzlich erschweren. Auch hier wird mithilfe von Hygiene-Workshops dringend notwendige Aufklärungsarbeit geleistet.