top of page
FFH_projekte_internat_header.jpg

Singla

“I really like going to school here in Singla. Hindi is my favourite subject because we learn poetry and sing songs.”

I am Saroj.
I am 9 years old.

I came to boarding school in Singla from night school.

At home I tended cows, fetched water, baked bread or picked mung beans. In the evening after work I went to school. My parents have never been to school. I really like going to school here in Singla. Hindi is my favourite subject because we learn poetry and sing songs.

FFH_projekte_internat1.jpg
FFH_projekte_internat2.jpg

My everyday school life in Singla

Here in Singla, I study maths, social and natural studies, Hindi and English. We have school every morning, except for Sunday's. In the afternoon we do homework and learn how to use the computer. We also spend time in the school garden.

When we are done with the school day, I read in the school library, or we draw or play team games. But we also have to help. The teachers and students clean out bathrooms and dormitories. We keep ourselves and our clothes clean.

We even help each other with meals, or with distributing soap to wash hands, serve the food. That' fun. Everyone has a task, and we take turns.

What happens after boarding school in Singla?

Around 65 students benefit each year from education and training at Singla. Most of the students do so well in the annual exams, that they manage to transfer to one of the state schools.

FFH_projekte_internat3.jpg
FFH_projekte_internat_all.jpg

The boarding school in Singla

Philosophy & Mission Statement of Singla (Barefoot College)

Laying the foundation and qualifications to transfer to a state school as well as the social skills and manual courses - all within one year - are the goal and aspiration of the boarding school at Singla.

 

Children from disadvantaged families, who would otherwise have no any access to education and training, get it here. Accommodation, food, supervision and health care are also provided.

Founding & Funding

In 2013, The Barefoot College in Singla (Ajmer District) started  the boarding school. In 2013/14, for the first time, a group of 40 children could receive a basic education to then continue in state schools.

 

Then a pilot project with a rudimentary infrastructure, was expanded in 2015 through a funding application from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The aim was and is to convey a sustainable form of education to an increasing group of children and to adapt the infrastructure to the local conditions and needs. In addition to teaching, gender-separated sleeping facilities and sanitary facilities are provided. Additionally projects relating to training and the advancement of girls and women are also a priority.

Who attends to boarding school?

Around 65 boys and girls between the ages of 9 and 15 benefit directly from the Singla boarding School every year. The most important criterion when selecting students are their abject need.

 

Preference is given to children of migrant workers who depend on accommodation, food and supervision in a boarding school. Broadly, we focus on children belonging to disadvantaged population groups whose parents did not have access to education.

The existing accommodation and premise would allow an annual admission of about 100 children, the prerequisite for this would be a higher annual donation volume.

What does the boarding school offer?

Learning material at the school is aligned with the content of state schools. At the end of the school year, the students take part in the examinations of state schools.

 

The access to formal education made possible in this way means, that the children and young adults have the opportunity to complete school, learn and practice in a trade and thus find a way out of the spiral of poverty of their families of origin, through gainful employment. The comprehensive education in the boarding school school provides not only school knowledge and manual skills, but also social skills and self-esteem.

 

More than 90% of the children pass the transition to state elementary schools at the end of the bridge school year.

Teachers & Staff

Teachers and staff are extremely important in delivering this structured, tailored approach.

 

In order to ensure a stable organisation of the school and curriculum at a high quality, not only pupils but also teachers and employees have to be accommodated.

The guidance of new teachers as well as the offer of further training seminars to support them is an ongoing task, which additionally ensures the quality of the project.

bottom of page

FFH_projekte_internat_header.jpg

Singla

„Ich gehe sehr gern in die Schule hier in Singla. Hindi ist mein Lieblingsfach, weil man Gedichte lernt und Lieder singt.“

Ich bin Saroj.
Ich bin 9 Jahre.

Ich bin von der Nachtschule in das Internat in Singla gekommen.

Zu Hause habe ich Kühe gehütet, Wasser geholt, Brot gebacken oder Mungobohnen gepflückt. Abends, nach der Arbeit, bin ich in die Schule gegangen. Meine Eltern waren nie in einer Schule. Ich gehe sehr gern in die Schule hier in Singla. Hindi ist mein Lieblingsfach, weil man Gedichte lernt und Lieder singt.

FFH_projekte_internat1.jpg
FFH_projekte_internat2.jpg

Mein Schulalltag in Singla

Hier in Singla lerne ich Mathe, Sozial- und Naturkunde, Hindi und Englisch. Wir haben vormittags Schule, nur Sonntag nicht. Am Nachmittag machen wir Hausaufgaben und lernen, mit dem PC umzugehen. Oder wir sind im Schulgarten.

Wenn wir Freizeit haben, lesen wir in der Schulbibliothek, wir malen oder spielen Team-Spiele. Aber wir müssen auch helfen. Gemeinsam mit den Lehrern machen wir unsere Bäder und Schlafräume sauber, wir kümmern uns darum, uns und unsere Kleidung sauber zu halten.

Wir helfen uns gegenseitig bei den Mahlzeiten. Verteilen Seife zum Händewaschen, servieren das Essen. Das macht Spaß. Jeder hat eine Aufgabe. Und wir wechseln uns ab.

Was kommt nach dem Internat in Singla?

Etwa 65 Schüler jedes Jahr profitieren von der Bildung und Ausbildung in Singla. Die meisten der Schüler schneiden bei den Jahresprüfungen so gut ab, dass sie den Übertritt auf eine der staatlichen Anschlussschulen schaffen.

FFH_projekte_internat3.jpg
FFH_projekte_internat_all.jpg

Das Internat in Singla

Philosophie & Leitbild von Singla (Barefoot-College)

Bildung und Qualifikation für den Übertritt in eine staatliche Schule, soziale Kompetenzen und handwerkliche Kurse – all das innerhalb eines Jahres – sind Ziel und Anspruch im Brückenschul-Internat in Singla.

 

Kinder aus benachteiligten und bedürftigen Familien, die ohne dieses Projekt keinerlei Zugang zu Bildung und Ausbildung hätten, bekommen diese hier. Darüber hinaus wird für Unterbringung, Verpflegung, Beaufsichtigung und gesundheitliche Betreuung gesorgt.

Gründung & Förderung

2013 begann das Barefoot College in Singla (Ajmer Distrikt) die Internats-Brückenschule einzurichten. 2013/14 konnte erstmals eine Gruppe von 40 Kindern eine Grundbildung erhalten und anschließend  in staatliche Schulen eingeschult werden.

 

Dieses Pilotvorhaben mit rudimentärer Infrastruktur wurde im Jahre 2015 über einen Förderantrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) ausgebaut. Ziel war und ist, einer zunehmenden Gruppe von Kindern diese nachhaltige Form der Bildung zu vermitteln, sowie die Infrastruktur den Gegebenheiten und Bedarfen vor Ort anzupassen. Wichtig sind neben dem Unterricht nach Geschlechtern getrennte Schlafmöglichkeiten und Sanitäranlagen, sowie weitere Projekte die Ausbildung und Mädchen- und Frauenförderung betreffend.

Wer geht auf das Internat?

Vom Brückenschul-Internat Singla profitieren jährlich direkt etwa 65 Jungen und Mädchen zwischen 9-15 Jahren. Wichtigstes Kriterium bei der Auswahl der Schüler ist die Bedürftigkeit.

 

Aufgenommen werden vorzugsweise Kinder von Wanderarbeitern, die auf eine Unterbringung, Verpflegung und Beaufsichtigung in einem Internat angewiesen sind. Alle Kinder gehören zu benachteiligten Bevölkerungsgruppen, deren Eltern keinen Zugang zu Bildung hatten.

Die vorhandenen Räumlichkeiten würden die jährliche Aufnahme von etwa 100 Kindern ermöglichen, Voraussetzung dafür wäre ein höheres jährliches Spendenvolumen.

Was bietet das Internat?

Der an der Schule vermittelte Lernstoff ist dem Inhalt staatlicher Schulen angeglichen. Am Ende des Schuljahres nehmen die Schüler an den Prüfungen einer staatlichen Schule teil.

 

Der so ermöglichte Zugang zu formaler Bildung bedeutet für die Kinder und Jugendlichen die Möglichkeit, einen Schulabschluss zu machen, einen Beruf zu erlernen und auszuüben und so über Erwerbsbeschäftigung einen Weg aus der materiellen Verarmung ihrer Herkunftsfamilie zu finden. Das umfassende Bildungsangebot im Brückenschul-Internat vermittelt  neben Schulwissen und handwerklichen Fähigkeiten auch soziale Kompetenzen und Selbstwertgefühl.

 

Mehr als 90 Prozent der Kinder bestehen am Ende des Brückenschuljahres den Übertritt in staatliche Grundschulen.

Lehrer & Mitarbeiter

Lehrkräfte und Mitarbeiter sind außerordentlich bedeutungsvoll, um diesen strukturierten, maßgeschneiderten Ansatz umzusetzen und zu vermitteln.

 

Um eine stabile Organisation von Schule und Lehrplan auf qualitativ anspruchsvollem Niveau sicherzustellen, müssen neben Schülerinnen und Schülern, auch Lehrkräfte und MitarbeiterInnen untergebracht werden.

Die Anleitung neuer Lehrkräfte sowie das Angebot von Weiterbildungsseminaren, um diese zu unterstützen, ist eine fortwährende Aufgabe, die die Qualität des Projektes zusätzlich sichert.